Where should I start?

Front Page Forums MCNSA Where should I start?

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Microsoftt
    Participant

I have little to no experience in any sort of programming, where should I start? Ive tried Codeacademy and had a meh time with it. Where did you guys learn?
    My plan is to be fully sufficient in a programming language by senior year of high school, I’m currently a sophmore. I have 2.5 years!
    So tell me, where should I / Where did you begin?

gravehorrorvacui

What kind of programming are you interested in? The three big areas are web development, systems and application programming. In web development you’ll see HTML (duh), PHP, SQL, and JavaScript most often. Systems programming is almost always done in C and assembly languages (assembly languages vary by processor, the most common is x86). Application programming is all over the place and covers all kinds of projects from behind the scenes banking software through video games. You’ll see almost every language used in application programming in some way or another. There’s also scripting, which is programming-lite (LITE – the new way to spell light with 20% fewer letters!) and is done in languages built specifically for scripting. Some popular scripting languages are Python, JavaScript, and Bash.

All languages have little quirks about them that you learn pretty much only through trial and error, but the biggest things to get down initially are ideas like variables (simple algebra concept here) and control structures (iteration and selection!) as well as “Object Oriented” design. You won’t need OO for scripting or web development really, but its the hot thing in application programming right now.